Movie review – Shaandar

The word “shaandar” in Hindi roughly translates to fantastic. However there was nothing “shaandar” about this movie. I can assure you that. It drives me mad to see that Bollywood continues to spew out useless junk and disappoints every single time. For a country obsessed with movies and actors, the least they can do is come up with a better script. The movie fails miserably on all fronts. Same old ridiculous humour that did make me laugh I’ll admit but only because it was so very stupid. I mean this is 2015 and we live in an age of brilliant minds and fantastic camera effects. Is this really the best we can do? 

The only thing that worked for me in the movie was Alia Bhatt who continues to charm me with her innocence. Shahid Kapoor did whatever he could with a script that belonged in a trash can. I wonder why these people agree to such movies. 

Anil Kapoor and his perpetually shirtless brother onscreen take us well into the depths of the unbearable.

The movie does touch some sensitive issues and sends a good message. In a country where the woman is expected to be perfect in all respects and it’s okay for the guy to be a blithering idiot, a message like this is required. 

Overall this movie is completely useless and I don’t know why hundreds of people wasted their lives Making this piece of crap and I don’t know why thousands will go to endure it. I mean those are 3 hours of my life I’m not getting back. And I missed the Manchester derby for this. Good call, NOT!!

One thought on “Movie review – Shaandar

Leave a Reply

