Sorry, Arushi.

There isn’t much that can be said about the Arushi double murder case that hasn’t been said already. There isn’t a theory or speculation left and people have let their imagination run wild with this. It saddens me immensely to see the ground realities in totality depicted in the movie based on this case. It really makes you question the world we live in where murderers are left unpunished even after gathering evidence against them. Eye witness accounts are dismissed based on a theory so questionable that you really wonder if there is in fact a judicial system in India.
In the middle of all this, a 14 year old girl sleeps alone in her grave. In the silence of the night a murder happens. A life is lost. While the rest of the world slowly forgets about what happened, her parents mourn her death in jail. It saddens me. It saddens me a lot. It saddens me to realise that I am a part of this  world. I remember being convinced that the parents had killed her. Based on whatever limited knowledge I came across in the news I had formed an opinion so stern and so wrong. I remember thinking they deserved to be jailed for life. This is exactly what happens when you form opinions on incomplete information. It is dangerous. It is wrong.
I wish I could do something about it. I wish they would open their eyes and rise above all these preconceived notions and look at the facts. I wish they would see reason and not theories behind the murder. And above all else I wish they would just do their jobs properly.
I am sorry about what happened to you Arushi. I am sorry about what they all said about you. I am sorry that your killers are probably still out there walking free. I’m sorry they convicted your parents for your murder. I’m sorry about how the system failed to avenge you. I’m sorry about everything.
May you rest in peace.

3 thoughts on “Sorry, Arushi.

  1. I looked up this case.. Sad that no real evidence was found, Sad case all around..
    And yes.. May She rest in Peace…

    Sending you thoughts your way Arjun.. hope you are well my friend.
    Blessings Sue

Leave a Reply

