Soulless

I feel it now,
Every passing second
Leaves its mark
A bruise
A scar
A memory.
I stand there
Helpless
Slowly dying
Or edging toward it.
Inevitable doom
Inevitable decline
Inevitable destination.

I feel it now
With every passing second
My body betrays me
And befriends
Cancerous enemies
Causing pain
And suffering
And more pain.
The story
Of my life
And everyone else’s.
The same old story
The same end.

I feel it now
With every passing second
Growing old
Slower steps and
Creaking bones.
Constantly tired
Sleep deprived.
I feel it now
With every passing second
Life ebbing away
Slowly, Sadly, Inevitably
Leaving me,
A mere bag of muscles and bones,
Soulless.

3 thoughts on “Soulless

Leave a Reply

