Movie review : The legend of Tarzan (2016)

I would like to believe that a lot of work, time and effort goes into making s movie. That too one that sort of promised a lot by being an adaptation of a famous comic book character. The trailers seemed to be action packed and intense but I’m afraid maybe one would be better off by just seeing the trailer and staying away from the movie as a whole. 

I don’t know what it is but the movie never really gained momentum for me. The story felt haphazard and I found myself trying to connect the dots as the movie continued. Things were just sort of happening on screen without a real necessity or planning. I know our expectations as viewers have shot up in this time and age thanks to great directors and great scripts but this one fails on all counts. 

Alexander Skarsgård for me, wasn’t the right choice. He maintains just one expression throughout the movie and frankly I expected more.Margot Robbie however continues to impress as she slowly matures into Hollywood and becomes a well known face. The direction too lacked finesse for me, the screenplay could be better, the CGI was repetitive and often unnecessary. And I cannot for the life of me understand why Samuel L. Jackson agreed to do such a pointless role with such clichéd dialogues. It was wrong on all fronts in my book. 

I found myself struggling to stay awake. But that’s the thing, I didn’t feel that the movie was doing hard enough to change my opinion. And I am an avid movie goer. I watch pretty much anything and everything. But this one surely adds to my list of the top 5 worst movies I have ever seen. Unquestionably. 

So to summarise, this movie is completely avoidable. Don’t even watch it when it comes on your local TV network for free. You’ll just waste your time. 

One thought on “Movie review : The legend of Tarzan (2016)

Leave a Reply

