Silence 

We sat in silence for the longest time. The comfortable kind, where nothing needs to be said. Words, in that realm of love and understanding often fall short in their service. And nothing had to be said really. It was a moment that an artist couldn’t capture, a musician couldn’t sing about yet here I am trying to immortalise it. To everyone else we were two people sitting there but I was so much more than that. Something only we knew about. Or probably just me, I question my judgement of the world sometimes. I give the world way too much credit than it deserves. The people mostly. I don’t know why.
“What do you want?” She asked, breaking my chain of thoughts.

“Me? I want what anyone wants.”

“And what’s that?”

“I want to wake up next to the love of my life every single day. Nothing else will do.”

“And who is she?”
I smiled, she smiled with me. To the world we were just two people sitting there but it was so much more than that. Something only we knew about. The silence returned surrounding us like a warm blanket. Nothing needed to be said. Words, often fall short in their service.

2 thoughts on “Silence 

Leave a Reply

